Chicago Sanitary and Ship Canal


The main purpose of the can which was built in 1885 was to reverse the flow of the Chicago River away from Lake Michigan in order to halt pollution of the lake water’s from city sewage. I read that Chicago has the rare distinction of being among major American cities that does not employ a disinfection stage at its three major sewage treatment plants. The result is a river and canal running thick with fecal coil form. Yesterday we passed so many people involved in water sports and swimming on the banks. I can’t imagine why anyone would get in this polluted water.

The electric barrier arch was installed to keep the Asian carp in the Mississippi and prevent them from getting into Lake Michigan. However, the fish have been getting through it so in 2009, 2,000 gallons of fish killing toxins were dumped in the canal to add to the pollution. The Army Corps has since cranked up the voltage but many feel that is not enough.

One comment

  1. I found your blog! Yeah! That’s very disturbing about the waste in the Chicago River. There are probably people who fish in it! Ugh! In the past few days I finished reading “Malcom X” & “A Lesson before Dying.” I would recommend both of them. Now reading “My Dream of You.” Good so far…It has been a week now since my surgery. I have not been outside since then. Lucy is still at Todd’s. He & Courtney have brought over food, as well as a friend from my garden group. They are all watering my plants & bringing in my mail when they stop by. One of them took my trash to the curb yesterday. I have spent each day with my leg elevated on pillows on my bed. I can’t get down the steps yet to my family room for a change of scenery, where I have a TV & a Lazy Boy I could sit in & elevate my leg. Todd did hook up a TV in my bedroom, so that has helped. The other day I managed to take a shower using a cast bag on my leg, tub bench & the grab bars & hand-held shower hose I installed before the surgery. I was totally exhausted by the time I rolled the scooter back to my bed!! But it was worth it having clean hair! Now that I know I can do it, (without flooding my bathroom floor!) the next time should be easier. I go to the dr on June, 17th & am supposed to be casted that day, but still will be non-weight bearing for 3 months. I’ve given up the hope I would at least be able to drive. I realize now how unsafe (& the legal trouble I would be in if something went wrong!). The key to my sanity is going to be eventually being able to navigate those steps! How many more weeks until you dock in Cheboygan? Stay safe! ⛴ At least you shouldn’t have to be keeping an eye out for those alligators! 🐊

    Like

Leave a comment